Yarnbombing and Strangeness

You’ve read the title of this post, I assume. This post is all about yarnbombing and strangeness. First up, yarnbombing!

I mentioned in a previous post that I would be yarnbombing public places with pink crochet hearts for Single Awareness Day Valentine’s Day. Well, I did. I had 50 hearts to yarnbomb with and I used up all of them. Here is the story of my yarnbombing adventure!

First, me being virtual schooled, Valentine’s Day meant a day to basically goof off. Like I said, virtual school allows a lot of freedom. So I woke up early, at 9 (which is early for me, OK) and I got my mom to take me to the mall. I did a bit of yarnbombing at the bookstore, Books-A-Million*. I hung hearts off the corners of shelves, all over the Doctor Who* display, and tucked some into certain books. I may or may not have targeted self-help books to do with romance.  I also strewed some around the cashier counters and left a few at the coffee shop tables. When I finished with the bookstore, I had 38 hearts left. You can tell I like the bookstore, can’t you?

My mom suggested going over to the food court. After all, everyone needs to eat. Unless you’re one of those anorexic models. Anyway, some of the restaurants hadn’t opened yet, so I stuck some hearts on their counters. I also did a bit of yarnbombing around the tables. Some of the workers were looking at us strangely. I guess seeing a teen girl drop pink hearts everywhere while her mom lags behind isn’t the usual sight. It should be.

Then I got hungry, so we bought some breakfast hash-browns and nuggets from Chick-Fil-A*. Nom nom nom. When we finished up there, I had 29 hearts left. Ooh, running a bit low already.

We walked over to the Disney* store and I hung some off the racks at toddler-eye-level. Total hearts when done – 23. Less than half left.
I didn’t want to do too much bombing in one location, so we moved on. Yesterday (the 13th) I had crocheted a Companion Cube using this wonderful pattern. I, being the geek I am, decided that it would be fun to leave the Companion Cube at Gamestop. So we walked all the way across the mall, leaving a few hearts along the way, to Gamestop. Gamestop, why you so far away?! I left the Companion Cube with the cashier (who was really nice). Said cashier promised to sneak the Cube into the bag of her next customer, though I wouldn’t put it past her to keep the Cube for herself. After all, it’s really cute.
We walked around the mall for a while, and I covertly dropped hearts. I did get some strange looks when a family spotted me sneaking around the shelves of Aéropostale*, though.
When my mom finally got bored, we walked back to the car, which was parked by Panera*. On the way there, I ducked into the Apple* store and left another few hearts there. One employee wanted to know what I was doing, and I told him all about my yarnbombing expedition. He said he liked the idea, so I gave him a heart to wear on his lanyard-thingy. I also put some in the Starbucks* nearby. Total number of hearts – 1.
My last stop was in the Coach* store. Mom wanted to look at purses, so I dropped off my last heart there as we were leaving. Total number of hearts – 0.
And there you have it, the full story of Koko’s Valentine yarnbombing Expedition. I hope you had a good Valentine’s, and if you were lucky, your date didn’t break up with you on Valentine’s. (This actually happened to my cousin)

* I am not being paid to advertise any of these companies, though I wish I was. I’m seriously strapped for cash right now.

About Danny

I blog about whatever's on my mind. Usually that's stuff like Harry Potter metaposts, writing, and LGBTQ+ topics.
This entry was posted in Awesomeness, crafts, Crochet, Me, Thingies I did, yarnbombing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Yarnbombing and Strangeness

  1. River says:

    Wow, sounds like a good yarnbombing day! And I wish all those stores would pay us to advertise. I think that we’d be good at it. . . .

  2. rastelly says:

    I really like your wallpaper! Where did you get it is it a theme!

    I like to write articles about intallation art and cultural rebels –
    It is kind of neat to find someone who is taking part in an art
    installation! The pictures are having a hard time comming up
    what do these bunneys and these hearts look like?

    I’ve also written serial about a haunted stuffed animal that follows
    a girl around Read Burlap Cat on my blog if your interested.

    I also have a series of posts called Bohemians at Large That deals
    with a lot of strange art – Ever hear of the 200 foot long pink bunny in
    Italy! Maybe I’ll look into this bunny drop thing – who started it?

  3. rastelly says:

    I’m thinking of doing a “Bohemians at large” post about the bunny drop project.
    I may also feature something about the tiny gaints over at Museum of Hoaxes.
    I would like to use your photo of a gum drop bunny – if it’s alright. I will add a
    bunny button – as soon as the article runs.

  4. rastelly says:

    The date was October 16, the year was 1869, the place was a small village in New York state.

    Workers digging a well discovered a marvelous wonder, A 10-foot tall stone man lay buried beneath the fields of an otherwise unremarkable town.

    Some said the man was a true giant, turned to stone in the biblical past.

    Others said it was a statue, perhaps of some ancient north American god.

    The truth would only make people more determined to catch a glimpse of the Cardiff Giant.

    For the statue was only completed a year before its discovery, by a man who sought to prove that people were gullible.

    Since September 29, 2011 an artist going by the name of Cardiff1869 has been making tiny replicas of the giant, and leaving them scattered about the town of Pasadena.

    just thought you would be interested in a nice peice of installation art.

    http://cardiff1869.com/

  5. seo plugin says:

    Hello Web Admin, I noticed that your On-Page SEO is is missing a few factors, for one you do not use all three H tags in your post, also I notice that you are not using bold or italics properly in your SEO optimization. On-Page SEO means more now than ever since the new Google update: Panda. No longer are backlinks and simply pinging or sending out a RSS feed the key to getting Google PageRank or Alexa Rankings, You now NEED On-Page SEO. So what is good On-Page SEO?First your keyword must appear in the title.Then it must appear in the URL.You have to optimize your keyword and make sure that it has a nice keyword density of 3-5% in your article with relevant LSI (Latent Semantic Indexing). Then you should spread all H1,H2,H3 tags in your article.Your Keyword should appear in your first paragraph and in the last sentence of the page. You should have relevant usage of Bold and italics of your keyword.There should be one internal link to a page on your blog and you should have one image with an alt tag that has your keyword….wait there’s even more Now what if i told you there was a simple WordPress plugin that does all the On-Page SEO, and automatically for you? That’s right AUTOMATICALLY, just watch this 4minute video for more information at. Seo Plugin

Enter your comment here.

